Networks in India

Blick vom Charminar-Denkmal auf die Innenstadt von Hyderabad, der Hauptstadt des Bundesstaates Andhra Pradesh im Süden des Landes.
View from the Charminar Monument overlooking the city of Hyderabad, the capital of Andhra Pradesh in the southern part of India. Image Credit: Eva Tiemann
Indische Studentinnen informieren sich über die Freie Universität.
Students in India are interested in getting information about Freie Universität. Image Credit: Eva Tiemann

Freie Universität’s liaison office in New Delhi supports and facilitates academic exchange with its Indian partners. Its doors are open to students and scholars in India who are interested in the excellent teaching and research opportunities at Freie Universität.

News from Nov 21, 2013

The liaison office in New Delhi maintains partnerships with selected universities in India. It recruits Indian graduate students interested in working on a doctorate in Germany, and it supports members of Freie Universität in planning and implementing conferences and other events on the subcontinent.

The main areas of cooperation with the University of Delhi and the Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi are in the humanities, political science, and cultural studies. With the University of Delhi there are also several joint projects in chemistry.

An international research training group, funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) was set up in collaboration with the University of Hyderabad to study Functional Molecular Infection Epidemiology. The group investigates, for example, factors responsible for the occurrence and spread of infectious diseases such as malaria.

Joint Projects for Sustainable Development

Education for sustainable development is the goal of cooperation between Freie Universität and The Energy and Resource Institute (TERI) in New Delhi. The joint project German-Indian Sustainability and Climate Change Dialogue was initiated in 2008 by the Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU). It serves as a platform for decision-makers, scholars, and environmental leaders from Germany and India, as well as for student exchange.

The Indian-European Multi-Level Climate Governance Research Network was set up in 2012. It serves as a platform for researchers from Freie Universität Berlin, the TERI University, Jadavpur University, Pondicherry University, and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam to work jointly on climate change policy in India and Europe.

In 2012 an agreement was reached with Pondicherry University that Freie Universität would provide support in developing a graduate program in European Studies and in providing German instruction for students.

There are also collaboration projects with other research institutes, in particular with the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) in Roorkee and the IITs in Delhi, Chennai, and Bombay, as well as with the International Institute of Information Technology (IIIT) in Bangalore, all related to current research in computer science.

Exchange Programs

Since July 2013, Freie Universität Berlin has been involved in two Erasmus Mundus projects with India: the two projects, EMINTE and EUPHRATES, both have 18 participating partner institutions including the University of Pune, the Jawaharlal Nehru University, the IIT Bombay, and the Tata Institute of Social Sciences. Through GATE, an Erasmus Mundus Mobility Project with Asia that was approved in 2012, Freie Universität partners with the IIT Madras and is setting up a student exchange program that will begin in 2014.

The liaison office in New Delhi is headed by Ulrich Podewils. It was set up in 2008 in the German House, which in 2012 became the German House for Research and Innovation (GHRI).

6 of 7
Last Update: Nov 21, 2013

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Netzwerke in Indien

Blick vom Charminar-Denkmal auf die Innenstadt von Hyderabad, der Hauptstadt des Bundesstaates Andhra Pradesh im Süden des Landes.
Blick vom Charminar-Denkmal auf die Innenstadt von Hyderabad, der Hauptstadt des Bundesstaates Andhra Pradesh im Süden des Landes. Bildquelle: Eva Tiemann
Indische Studentinnen informieren sich über die Freie Universität.
Indische Studentinnen informieren sich über die Freie Universität. Bildquelle: Eva Tiemann

Das Verbindungsbüro in Neu-Delhi unterstützt den Aufbau und die Weiterentwicklung von Kooperationen mit indischen Partnern. Es ist Anlaufstelle für Studierende und Wissenschaftler aus Indien, die sich für die Lehre und Forschung an der Freien Universität interessieren.

News vom 21.11.2013

Das Verbindungsbüro in Neu-Delhi pflegt die Verbindungen mit den Hochschulen, auf die sich die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit konzentriert, wirbt um indische Promovierende und unterstützt Angehörige der Freien Universität bei der Planung und Durchführung von Veranstaltungen auf dem Subkontinent.

Auf den Geistes-, Politik- und Kulturwissenschaften liegen die Schwerpunkte der Zusammenarbeit mit der Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi und der University of Delhi, mit der zudem gemeinsame Projekte im Fach Chemie bestehen.

Mit der Universität Hyderabad wird das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderte Internationale Graduiertenkolleg Functional Molecular Infection Epidemiology getragen. Hier werden etwa Faktoren untersucht, die für die Ausprägung und Verbreitung von Infektionskrankheiten wie Malaria verantwortlich sind.

Gemeinsame Projekte für Nachhaltige Entwicklung

Hochschulbildung für eine Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist das Ziel einer Kooperation der Freien Universität mit The Energy and Resource Institute (TERI) in Neu-Delhi: Der seit 2008 bestehende German-Indian Sustainability and Climate Change Dialogue wurde vom Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik (FFU) initiiert und dient als Plattform für Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Umweltschutz sowie für einen Studierendenaustausch beider Länder.

In dem 2012 gegründeten „Indian-European Multi-Level Climate Governance Research Network“ forschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität, der TERI Universität, der Jadavpur University, der Pondicherry University und der Freien Universität Amsterdam gemeinsam zur Klimapolitik in Indien und Europa.

2012 wurde zudem mit der Pondicherry Universität die Unterstützung der Freien Universität bei der Entwicklung des Aufbaustudiengangs European Studies sowie beim Deutschunterricht für Studierende vereinbart.

Weitere Kooperationen – auch zum Studierendenaustausch – bestehen mit außeruniversitären Forschungsinstituten, vor allem mit den Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) in Delhi, Madras (Chennai) und Bombay, sowie mit dem International Institute of Information Technology (IIIT) in Bangalore zur aktuellen Forschung in der Informatik.

Austausch-Programme

Seit Juli 2013 ist die Freie Universität Berlin an zwei Erasmus-Mundus-Projekten mit Indien beteiligt: Partner der beiden Projekten EMINTE und EUPHRATES sind insgesamt 18 indische Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen, darunter die University of Pune, die Jawaharlal Nehru University, das IIT Bombay und das Tata Institute of Social Sciences. Über das im Jahr 2012 bewilligte Erasmus-Mundus-Programm GATE für Asien regional ist die Freie Universität ebenfalls mit dem IIT Madras verbunden, mit dem in diesem Jahr ein Studentenaustausch vereinbart worden ist, der 2014 beginnen soll.

Das Verbindungsbüro der Freien Universität Berlin in Neu-Delhi wird geleitet von Ulrich Podewils. Es wurde 2008 im damaligen Deutschen Haus eingerichtet, seit 2012 geführt als Deutsches Wissenschafts- und Innovationshaus (DWIH).

5 von 7
Letzte Aktualisierung: 21.11.2013

Was uns auszeichnet

Unishop

T-Shirts, Tassen, Taschen und mehr im Unishop
Unishop Logo
Bildquelle: Freie Universität

Der Unishop bietet ein breites Angebot an Artikeln an, welche im Foyer der Mensa II, Otto-von-Simson-Str. 26 oder online erstanden werden können. Öffnungszeiten: Montags bis donnerstags von 11 bis 16 Uhr und freitags von 11 bis 15 Uhr.