Generator of New Ideas

Zwischen den Zeilen lesen: Das Dahlem Humanities Center zählt seit 2009 zu den Focus Areas der Freien Universität Berlin.
Reading between the lines: Since 2009 the Dahlem Humanities Center has been one of the Focus Areas of Freie Universität Berlin. Source: Bernd Wannenmacher

Humanities research at Freie Universität has a breadth and diversity unparalleled in Germany. The central hub of the many departments and activities is the Dahlem Humanities Center, which creates interdisciplinary networks and promotes the emergence of new research initiatives.

News from Nov 05, 2013

Founded in 2007, the Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) is the first and only humanities center of its kind in Germany thus far. Since 2010 it has been co-funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research as a pilot project. The members of DHC are 24 internationally acclaimed professors based at Freie Universität’s Department of Philosophy and Humanities and the Department of History and Cultural Studies.

The Dahlem Humanities Center offers a platform for dialogue for the over 600 researchers working in the different fields and institutes of the humanities at Freie Universität as well as for researchers at the other humanities institutions in the Berlin-Brandenburg region. With idea competitions and fellowships the Dahlem Humanities Center, a Focus Area at Freie Universität Berlin, provides incentives to develop new individual and collaborative research projects as well as advice and seed money for promising new projects. Cooperation with non-university research organizations, cultural institutions, and the humanities centers at leading universities around the world promise to generate important new impulses for humanities research in Berlin.

Research in the Humanities

From forms of society in the ancient world to the linguistic diversity of modern Europe, the fields of research in the humanities are numerous, multi-faceted, and characterized by an investigative approach that seeks to understand what people thought about, what “spirit” prevailed in a particular period, and how this was reflected in their daily lives, art, and culture. The humanities help keep memories of past centuries alive and available for continued reflection. Equally concerned with the present, the humanities also explore and reflect on changes in culture and society and current global issues, making a vital contribution to modern society and societies of the future.

The trends, tendencies, and theories that determine the directions taken by research are analyzed at DHC and presented at a variety of events. DHC makes current topics and research findings in the humanities a subject of public debate.

Public Events

The Hegel Lecture is dedicated to the central principle expounded in the philosophy of Georg Friedrich Wilhelm Hegel: freedom. It is held once a year by an outstanding scholar of the humanities and is directed at an academic and non-academic audience. Among recent speakers were the American philosopher and gender researcher Judith Butler or the Slovenian philosopher, psychoanalyst, and cultural critic Slavoj Žižek.

In the Dahlem Humanities Center Lectures prominent humanists, writers, intellectuals, and artists give a wider academic and non-academic audience an impression of specific research projects.

The concept laboratories aim to identify the current status of relevant transdisciplinary research themes. Each year, 10 researchers from around the world meet with experts from Freie Universität for a three-day think tank to discuss ideas for innovative research projects.

A panel on "Trends and Tendencies" focuses on current theories and methods in the humanities, whereby the international dicussants aim to identify the emergence of new research paradigms and the directions these could take in order to make prognoses about future tendencies in theory development.

Annual workshops are held to create a discussion forum for representatives of the various disciplines contributing to DHC and experts and practitioners from non-university institutions in Berlin. During these workshops DHC scholars engage in intensive dialogue with representatives from the spheres of art, media, business, and politics.

Five interdisciplinary Focus Areas have been identified and established at Freie Universität so far.

4 of 8
Last Update: Feb 11, 2014

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Inkubator für neue Ideen

Zwischen den Zeilen lesen: Das Dahlem Humanities Center zählt seit 2009 zu den Focus Areas der Freien Universität Berlin.
Zwischen den Zeilen lesen: Das Dahlem Humanities Center zählt seit 2009 zu den Focus Areas der Freien Universität Berlin. Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Die Breite geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung an der Freien Universität ist bundesweit einzigartig. Das Dahlem Humanities Center bildet für diese Fülle an Disziplinen und Aktivitäten einen Rahmen, schafft interdisziplinäre Netzwerke und fördert die Entstehung neuer Forschungsinitiativen.

News vom 05.11.2013

Das 2007 gegründete Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) ist die erste und bislang einzige geisteswissenschaftliche Einrichtung dieser Art in Deutschland und wird seit 2010 als Pilotprojekt vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung mitfinanziert. Mitglieder des DHC sind 24 international renommierte Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrer der Freien Universität aus den beiden Fachbereichen Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften sowie Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften.

Das DHC dient als eine Plattform für die Vernetzung der mehr als 600 Geisteswissenschaftler an der Freien Universität sowie der geisteswissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in der Wissenschaftsregion Berlin-Brandenburg. Mit Ideenwettbewerben und Fellowships bietet die Focus Area Anreize zur Ausarbeitung neuer Einzel- und Verbundforschungsprojekte sowie Beratung und Anschubfinanzierung für zukunftsträchtige neue Projekte. Kooperationen mit außeruniversitären Forschungs- und Kultureinrichtungen und Humanities Centers an herausragenden Universitäten weltweit versprechen richtungsweisende Impulse für die geisteswissenschaftliche Forschung in Berlin.

Forschung in den Geisteswissenschaften

Ob es um Gesellschaftsformen der Antike geht oder um die Sprachenvielfalt in Europa – die Forschungsfelder der Geisteswissenschaften sind vielfältig: Hier wird untersucht und erklärt, was die Menschen beschäftigt, welcher „Geist“ bestimmte Epochen prägte oder in welcher Form sich dies in Alltagsleben, Kunst oder Kultur ausdrückt. Die Geisteswissenschaften tragen dazu bei, Erinnerungen an vergangene Jahrhunderte festzuhalten und unter stets neuen Aspekten zu untersuchen. Gleichzeitig betrachten sie den kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel, indem sie aktuelle, globale Themen aufgreifen. Damit sind sie für heutige ebenso wie für künftige Gesellschaften von hoher Bedeutung.

Welche Trends, Tendenzen und Theorien diese Forschungen bestimmen, wird am DHC analysiert und in verschiedenen Veranstaltungsformaten thematisiert. Das DHC trägt damit aktuelle Themen und Forschungsergebnisse der Geisteswissenschaften zur Diskussion in die breite Öffentlichkeit.

Veranstaltungen des DHC

Die Hegel Lecture ist dem zentralen Wert der Philosophie Georg Friedrich Wilhelm Hegels verbunden: der Freiheit. Die öffentliche Vorlesung wird einmal jährlich von herausragenden Geisteswissenschaftlern gehalten. Zu den Vortragenden zählten etwa die US-amerikanische Philosophin und Geschlechterforscherin Judith Butler oder der slowenische Philosoph, Psychoanalytiker und Kulturkritiker Slavoj Žižek.

In der Reihe Dahlem Humanities Center Lectures gewähren profilierte Geisteswissenschaftler, Schriftsteller, Intellektuelle und Künstler aus aller Welt in ihren Vorträgen einem allgemeinen, geisteswissenschaftlich interessierten Publikum Einblicke in spezifische Forschungsprojekte.

Ziel der Konzeptlabors ist es, den aktuellen Stand transdisziplinär relevanter Forschungsthemen auszumachen. Jährlich treffen sich 10 Forscherinnen und Forscher aus aller Welt mit Experten der Freien Universität zu der dreitägigen Konferenz, um Ideen für innovative Forschungsprojekte zu diskutieren.

Einen Blick in die Zukunft wagt das Panel Trends und Tendenzen. Bei diesem ebenfalls international besetzten Veranstaltungsformat werden Prognosen über die Weiterentwicklung aktueller Theorien und Methoden der Geisteswissenschaften erstellt.

Der Austausch zwischen Forschung und Praxis am Standort Berlin und die Auslotung neuer Kooperationsformen ist das Ziel des alljährlichen Workshops am DHC. Dabei tritt das DHC in einen intensiven Dialog mit Vertretern aus Kunst, Medien, Wirtschaft und Politik.

An der Freien Universität wurden bislang fünf fachbereichsübergreifende Focus Areas identifiziert und etabliert:

8 von 9
Letzte Aktualisierung: 11.02.2014

Was uns auszeichnet

Unishop

T-Shirts, Tassen, Taschen und mehr im Unishop
Unishop Logo
Bildquelle: Freie Universität

Der Unishop bietet ein breites Angebot an Artikeln an, welche im Foyer der Mensa II, Otto-von-Simson-Str. 26 oder online erstanden werden können. Öffnungszeiten: Montags bis donnerstags von 11 bis 16 Uhr und freitags von 11 bis 15 Uhr.