Gender Equality and Diversity at Freie Universität

Goals related to gender equality and diversity policy are an integral part of Freie Universität Berlin’s conception of itself as a modern, cosmopolitan university. These goals include, in particular, ensuring that women and men have equal rights to participate in academic life, fostering internationally visible gender and diversity studies and integrating those disciplines into teaching activities at the university, and striving to establish family-friendly overall conditions for employees, faculty members, and students.

With its successful equality policies, Freie Universität Berlin is ranked at the forefront among all German universities. The university has earned the Total E-Quality Science Award (TEQ) for the fourth time in a row now for its exemplary higher education and personnel policies, which embrace the principles of equal opportunity. In a nationwide ranking regarding equality at higher education institutions (CEWS), the university is once again ranked near the top. In 2007 and 2011, Freie Universität underwent audits for certification and recertification as a family-friendly higher education institution.

At Freie Universität Berlin gender research and equality are two independent, yet interrelated fields of action, each with its own dynamics and methods of operation. GenderNet Freie Universität Berlin is an innovative, flexible structure that the university established with the intention of strengthening both areas of activity, creating a platform for dialog between the two, and paving the way for new forms of cooperation.

Freie Universität Berlin pursues its equality policy goals as part of an across-the-board equality concept that was enacted in 2009 by the university management and has been called exemplary by the German Research Foundation (DFG). The concept includes several major policy initiatives:

  • to foster an organizational culture distinguished by gender awareness and gender competence,

  • to implement a personnel policy that aims to achieve equality,

  • to implement equality indicators within management instruments and processes,

  • to systematically collect and analyze equality-related data,

  • to develop, implement, and evaluate programs and measures aimed at gaps and areas with potential for improvement that are identified during the analysis process,

  • to use resources (human and material) to support women and promote gender and diversity studies.

For more information, see in particular the following pages:

Last Update: Jun 17, 2013

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Gleichstellung an der Freien Universität

Gleichstellungspolitische Ziele sind im Selbstverständnis der Freien Universität Berlin als einer modernen, weltoffenen Universität fest verankert. Hierzu gehören insbesondere die gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Frauen und Männern an der Wissenschaft, die Förderung einer international sichtbaren Gender- und Diversityforschung und deren Einbindung in die universitäre Lehre sowie das Streben nach familienfreundlichen Rahmenbedingungen für Beschäftigte und Studierende.

Die Freie Universität Berlin steht mit ihrer erfolgreichen Gleichstellungspolitik an der Spitze der deutschen Universitäten: Für ihre an Chancengleichheit orientierte vorbildliche Hochschul- und Personalpolitik wurde sie bereits zum fünften Mal in Folge mit dem „Total E-Quality“-Prädikat (TEQ) ausgezeichnet. Im bundesweiten Ranking zur Gleichstellung an Hochschulen (CEWS) befindet sie sich wiederholt in der Spitzengruppe. 2007 und 2011 wurde die Freie Universität als familienfreundliche hochschule (re-)auditiert.

Geschlechterforschung und Gleichstellung sind an der Freien Universität eigenständige, miteinander verknüpfte Aktionsfelder mit je eigenen Dynamiken und Handlungslogiken. Mit dem GenderNet Freie Universität Berlin ist eine innovative, flexible Struktur etabliert, durch die die beiden Bereiche jeweils gestärkt, in Dialog gebracht und in neuen Kooperationsformen zukunftsweisend verbunden werden.

Die gleichstellungspolitischen Ziele der Freien Universität werden im Rahmen eines durchgängigen Gleichstellungskonzepts verfolgt, das 2009 durch die Universitätsleitung beschlossen und von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft als vorbildlich eingestuft wurde.

Zu den übergeordneten Maßnahmenbündeln des Konzepts gehören insbesondere:

  • die Förderung einer Organisationskultur, die sich durch Gender-Awareness und Gender-Kompetenz auszeichnet,

  • die Umsetzung einer gleichstellungsbezogenen Personalpolitik,

  • die Implementierung von Gleichstellungsindikatoren in Steuerungsinstrumente und Managementprozesse,

  • die systematische Erhebung und Analyse gleichstellungsbezogener Daten,

  • die Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Evaluation von Programmen und Maßnahmen, die auf die in der Analyse identifizierten Lücken und Verbesserungspotentiale zielen,

  • der Einsatz von Ressourcen (Personal- und Sachmittel) zur Förderung von Frauen sowie zur Förderung der Gender- und Diversityforschung.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie insbesondere auf den folgenden Seiten:

Letzte Aktualisierung: 03.09.2014

Was uns auszeichnet

Unishop

T-Shirts, Tassen, Taschen und mehr im Unishop
Unishop Logo
Bildquelle: Freie Universität

Der Unishop bietet ein breites Angebot an Artikeln an, welche im Foyer der Mensa II, Otto-von-Simson-Str. 26 oder online erstanden werden können. Öffnungszeiten: Montags bis donnerstags von 11 bis 16 Uhr und freitags von 11 bis 15 Uhr.