Largest University Hospital in Europe

Der Campus Benjamin Franklin am Hindenburgdamm in Berlin-Steglitz
The Benjamin Franklin campus is on Hindenburgdamm in Berlin-Steglitz. Source: Stephan Töpper

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, founded in 2003, is a joint corporation of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and functions as the joint medical school of both universities.

Freie Universität is one of very few universities in Germany to offer the full spectrum of disciplines in the life sciences – human medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, and the fundamental biological sciences.

In the southwest of Berlin, collaborative research centers and the “Functional Materials at the Nanoscale” focus area create close cooperative relationships between physicians and medical researchers and those pursuing fundamental research.

The NeuroCure excellence cluster and the Berlin-Brandenburg School for Regenerative Therapies (BSRT) also demonstrate the vitality of the university’s research and teaching activities in the medical field. The same is true of the more heavily application-oriented Poly4Bio innovation nucleus “Polymers for Biomedicine – Berlin-Brandenburg,” which exists in cooperation with the Helmholtz Association.

Last Update: Feb 13, 2013

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Größtes Universitätsklinikum Europas

Der Campus Benjamin Franklin am Hindenburgdamm in Berlin-Steglitz
Der Campus Benjamin Franklin am Hindenburgdamm in Berlin-Steglitz Quelle: Stephan Töpper

Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin ist seit 2003 eine Gliedkörperschaft der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und somit die gemeinsame medizinische Fakultät beider Universitäten.

Mit dem vollständigen lebenswissenschaftlichen Fächerspektrum – bestehend aus Humanmedizin, Zahnmedizin, Veterinärmedizin, Pharmazie und den biologischen Grundlagenwissenschaften – verfügt die Freie Universität Berlin über eine Besonderheit, die in Deutschland nur sehr wenige Universitäten aufweisen.

Im Berliner Südwesten bestehen im Rahmen von Sonderforschungsbereichen und der Focus Area „Nanoskalige Funktionsmaterialien“ enge Kooperationsbeziehungen zwischen Medizinern und Grundlagenwissenschaftlern.

Auch der Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure und die Berlin-Brandenburger Schule für Regenerative Therapien (BRST) zeigen die vitale Forschung und Lehre in der Medizin. Gleiches gilt für den stärker anwendungsorientierten Verbund Poly4Bio – Innovation Nucleus „Polymers for Biomedicine – Berlin-Brandenburg“ mit der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 22.06.2011

Was uns auszeichnet

Unishop

T-Shirts, Tassen, Taschen und mehr im Unishop
Unishop Logo
Quelle: Freie Universität

Der Unishop bietet ein breites Angebot an Artikeln an, welche im Foyer der Mensa II, Otto-von-Simson-Str. 26 oder online erstanden werden können. Öffnungszeiten: Montags bis donnerstags von 11 bis 16 Uhr und freitags von 11 bis 15 Uhr.