Awards and Distinctions

Die Freie Universität gehört zur Spitzengruppe der Universitäten im deutschsprachigen Raum
Freie Universität Berlin is one of the best universities in the German-speaking countries. Image Credit: Benjamin Wierzoch

Freie Universität Berlin ranks near the top in all of the major German and international university rankings. Factors including considerably enhanced achievements have earned the university a lasting place among the top higher education institutions in the German-speaking countries.

Outstanding Research

With nine projects approved in the German Excellence Initiative, Freie Universität emerged as the most successful university in the competition during 2006 and 2007. During the second phase, in 2012 funds were committed through 2017 for the university’s future development concept “Veritas – Justitia – Libertas. International Network University” along with three clusters of excellence and seven graduate schools based at Freie Universität Berlin or with participation by Freie Universität.

The increase in external funding from 57.1 million euros in 2007 to 112 million euros in 2012 is an indicator for the positive performance development of Freie Universität Berlin.

Excellent Scholars and Scientists

The students, instructors, and researchers at Freie Universität include a large number of award winners, who hold distinctions including prestigious academic awards, individual honors, and prizes for theses and dissertations.

First-rate Transfer of Knowledge and Technology

The commercialization of research results is important. It is based on collaboration with industry and an optimum start-up support. In the Berlin-Brandenburg business plan competition, Freie Universität was the most successful German university in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, and 2012. Since 2009 Freie Universität Berlin and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the medical school operated jointly by Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, have been working together in start-up support. In 2013 their mutual concept for establishing a university-wide founding culture, called Entrepreneurial Network University, was recognized by the German Federal Ministry for Economics and Technology in the ministry's "EXIST-Gründungskultur – Die Gründerhochschule" competition.

Recognition for Gender Equality and Family Friendliness

For its successful equality policies, Freie Universität was certified as a family-friendly higher education institution (2007, 2010) and has earned the Total E-Quality Science Award (TEQ) numerous times (2002, 2005, 2008, and 2011).

The audit berufundfamilie® is a tool to promote family-friendly human resources policy. It was set up in 1999 on behalf of the Hertie Foundation and is supported by, among others, the German Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women, and Youth.

The Total E-Quality Award – awarded by Total E-Quality Association and funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research – pays tribute to universities and academc institutions for their exemplary policies encouraging gender equality.

Awards for Climate Protection Measures

Since 2000 Freie Universität has drastically reduced its energy consumption through comprehensive technical and structural changes in its approximately 200 properties as well as through incentives to its employees.

For its commitment to climate protection, Freie Universität has received several awards from the state initiative  KlimaSchutzPartner Berlin as well as in a sustainablilty competition organized by the gas supplier, GASAG: 2003, 2008, 2010, and 2012. In May 2011 it was the first university in the German capital to sign a climate protection agreement with the State of Berlin, in which the university committed itself to further mitigation measures by 2015.

In February 2013 two cogeneration units were put into operation. They produce both heat and electricity and are high-efficiency power generation systems. The Engineering and Utilities Division expects that their use will reduce the carbon dioxide emissions of the university by 1,400 tons annually.

Recognition for Informing the Public

The “Schools at University for Climate and Energy” program organized by Freie Universität Berlin's Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU), was commended in 2009/2010, 2011/2012, and 2013/2014 by the German UNESCO Commission. The project was praised as a model for the United Nations Decade of Education for Sustainable Development global education initiative.

Last Update: Jun 03, 2014

What Distinguishes Us

Auszeichnungen

Die Freie Universität gehört zur Spitzengruppe der Universitäten im deutschsprachigen Raum
Die Freie Universität gehört zur Spitzengruppe der Universitäten im deutschsprachigen Raum Bildquelle: Benjamin Wierzoch

In allen maßgeblichen deutschen und internationalen Hochschul-Vergleichen erzielt die Freie Universität Berlin hervorragende Ergebnisse. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund erheblicher Leistungssteigerungen unterstreicht sie damit nachhaltig ihre Zugehörigkeit zur Spitzengruppe der Universitäten im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Ausgezeichnete Wissenschaft und Forschung

Die Freie Universität Berlin hat 2012 den 2007 errungenen Exzellenzstatus verteidigt. Bis 2017 bewilligt wurden Mittel für das Zukunftskonzept Veritas – Iustitia – Libertas. Internationale Netzwerkuniversität sowie drei Exzellenzcluster und sieben Graduiertenschulen in Sprecherschaft oder mit Beteiligung der Freien Universität Berlin.

Die positive Leistungsentwicklung der Freien Universität Berlin lässt sich anhand des Anstiegs der Drittmittel belegen. Die Summe stieg von 57,1 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2007 auf 112 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2012 fast um das Doppelte.

Ausgezeichnete Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler

An der Freien Universität Berlin studieren, lehren und forschen zahlreiche Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger – prämiiert mit renommierten Wissenschaftspreisen, Einzelauszeichnungen und Preisen für Abschlussarbeiten und Dissertationen.

Ausgezeichneter Wissens- und Technologietransfer

Forschungsergebnisse sollen auch wirtschaftlich verwertet werden. Grundlage hierfür sind Kooperationen mit der Wirtschaft und eine optimale Gründungsförderung. Im Businessplan-Wettbewerb Berlin-Brandenburg wurde die Freie Universität 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 und 2012 als erfolgreichste Hochschule Berlins mit dem Titel „Ideenschmiede“ ausgezeichnet. Seit 2009 arbeitet die Freie Universität Berlin mit der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, dem gemeinsamen medizinischen Fachbereich der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, in der Gründungsförderung zusammen. Das gemeinsame Konzept Entrepreneurial Network University zur Etablierung einer hochschulweiten Gründungskultur wurde 2013 im Wettbewerb „EXIST-Gründungskultur – Die Gründerhochschule“ vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie ausgezeichnet.

Ausgezeichnete Frauenförderung und familienfreundliche Hochschule

Für ihr Engagement im Rahmen der Gleichstellung wurde die Freie Universität mit den Zertifikaten „audit familiengerechte Hochschule“ (2007, 2010) und „Total E-Quality Award“ (2002, 2005, 2008 und 2011) ausgezeichnet.

Das audit berufundfamilie® ist ein Instrument zur Förderung familienbewusster Personalpolitik. Es wurde 1999 im Auftrag der gemeinnützigen Hertie-Stiftung entwickelt und wird unter anderem vom Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend gefördert.

Der Total E-Quality Award – vergeben vom Verein Total E-Quality und gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – würdigt Hochschulen und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen für deren vorbildliche Frauenförderung.

Ausgezeichneter Klimaschutz

Die Freie Universität hat seit dem Jahr 2000 bei insgesamt stabiler Flächennutzung ihren Energieverbrauch drastisch gesenkt: durch umfassende Neuerungen an Gebäuden und deren Technik in den rund 200 Liegenschaften der Universität, durch ein Green-IT Handlungsprogramm sowie durch ein universitätsinternes Anreizsystem.

Für ihr Klimaschutz-Engagement wurde die Universität durch die Landesinitiative KlimaSchutzPartner Berlin und im Zukunftswettbewerb des Gasversorgers GASAG mehrfach ausgezeichnet: 2003, 2008, 2010 und 2012. Als erste Hochschule der Hauptstadt unterzeichnete sie im Mai 2011 eine Klimaschutzvereinbarung mit dem Land Berlin, in der sie sich zu weiteren Energiesparmaßnahmen bis 2015 verpflichtet.

Im Februar 2013 wurden zwei Blockheizkraftwerke in Betrieb genommen. Sie produzieren Strom und Wärme gleichzeitig und zählen zu den hocheffizienten Energieerzeugungsanlagen. Damit wird der Kohlendioxidausstoß der Hochschule um 1400 Tonnen jährlich reduziert.

Ausgezeichnete Wissenschaft für die Öffentlichkeit

Die vom Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik an der Freien Universität Berlin entwickelte Schüleruniversität „schools@university Klima + Energie“ ist 2009/2010, 2011/2012 und 2013/2014 von der Deutschen UNESCO-Kommission als offizielles Projekt der UN-Weltdekade Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung als Vorbild und Beitrag zur Allianz „Nachhaltigkeit lernen“ ausgezeichnet worden.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 03.06.2014

Was uns auszeichnet

Audio-Video-Portal

Lehr- und Lerninhalte in Bild und Ton
avportal