Research

bild_research_en_930
Research Network

Research at Freie Universität Berlin is characterized by disciplinary and transdisciplinary excellence and the diversity of its academic networks – both internationally and in the Berlin-Brandenburg science hub. The strategic approach to research at Freie Universität Berlin, which is reinforced by the Excellence Initiative, focuses on the flexibility of new as well as established structures.

Research Diversity in Flexible Structures

In academic terms, Freie Universität Berlin has been profoundly shaped by its humanities. Nationally outstanding and internationally acclaimed, the humanities form an essential strand of its top-level research activities. Due to the university’s global networks and international focus, the social sciences and highly successful area studies are a central element of the university’s research profile.

Freie Universität Berlin’s natural sciences are as uniquely concentrated as they are diverse. Multifaceted networks contribute to their excellence of research: with the medical school Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin (joint department of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), with the three other major universities and numerous non-research institutions in the Berlin-Brandenburg area.

Since 2006, one of the special features of research at Freie Universität Berlin is the university’s targeted formation of research alliances called Focus Areas. The Focus Areas form academic and scientific networks and working platforms for interdisciplinary and interinstitutional collaborative research at Freie Universität.

Last Update: Feb 26, 2014

Events

Funding Calls

Forschung

bild_research_de_930
Forschungsnetzwerk

Die Forschung der Freien Universität Berlin zeichnet sich durch disziplinäre und transdisziplinäre Exzellenz sowie durch die Vielfalt ihrer akademischen Netzwerke aus – sowohl weltweit als auch in der Wissenschaftsregion Berlin-Brandenburg. Kern des Zukunftskonzeptes ist es, die vielfältigen Forschungsaktivitäten an der Freien Universität strategisch zu koordinieren und die regionale, nationale und internationale Forschungsvernetzung weiter auszubauen.

Forschungsvielfalt in flexiblen Strukturen

Die an der Freien Universität angebotene Fächervielfalt wird geprägt durch die Geisteswissenschaften und die hier erbrachten herausragenden Forschungsleistungen. Seit Jahren sind die Geisteswissenschaften der Freien Universität in internationalen Rankings gut platziert, in nationalen Leistungsvergleichen stehen sie sogar an der Spitze. Weitere forschungsstarke Disziplinen sind die Sozialwissenschaften und die überaus erfolgreichen Regionalwissenschaften.

In den Naturwissenschaften bildet die Freie Universität im Verbund mit der Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, der gemeinsamen medizinischen Fakultät von Freier Universität und Humboldt Universität, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin sowie außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen in der Region Berlin-Brandenburg einen Forschungsraum von einzigartiger Dichte und Vielfalt.

Seit 2006 bilden die sogenannten Focus Areas als fachbereichsübergreifende, flexible Forschungsallianzen zentrale Elemente der Forschungsstrategie der Freien Universität. Diese interdisziplinären Forschungsnetzwerke dienen als Plattformen, um über Fächer- und Institutionsgrenzen hinaus Forschungsbedarfe der Zukunft zu identifizieren und gemeinsam an der Lösung wissenschaftlicher Fragen zu arbeiten.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 26.08.2014

Termine

Ausschreibungen