International Network

bild_international_en_930
International Network

The founding of Freie Universität Berlin in 1948 was made possible with international support. Ever since then, research and teaching at the university have been characterized by international influences. Through global and regional networks, scientists and scholars have an opportunity to exchange ideas and advance their research, whereby the focus is on interdisciplinary work and the search for solutions to global challenges.

Originally a necessity due to West Berlin’s isolated position several hundred miles outside of Western Germany, internationalization quickly became a successful and sustainable strategy.

The key objectives of the internationalization strategy are:

  • to strengthen the university’s research through international cooperation and complementary projects,
  • to support the regional and international focus of the humanities and social sciences at Freie Universität, in particular in the field of area studies, e.g., on Latin America and North America, East Asia, the Middle East, Eastern Europe, and the Caspian region,
  • to recruit outstanding researchers and doctoral students from abroad,
  • to prepare students at Freie Universität for a globalized world and to give them an international and intercultural perspective, for example, through student exchange, internships, and studying on an international campus in Berlin-Dahlem.

An International Campus

Freie Universität offers its students and researchers an international environment. This includes various aspects:

the development of international courses and the integration of international components into its degree programs, including degree programs offered in English, structured exchange programs, and joint or double degrees;

addressing the needs of students and researchers from abroad, for example, offering orientation and language courses, welcome services, and events sponsored by the International Club.

Last Update: May 16, 2013

Events

Funding Calls

Internationales Netzwerk

bild_international_de_930
Internationales Netzwerk

Die Gründung der Freien Universität Berlin im Jahr 1948 wurde maßgeblich durch internationale Unterstützung ermöglicht. Seither prägen internationale Impulse die Forschung und Lehre an der Hochschule. Durch weltweite wie regionale Netzwerke können sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler intellektuell austauschen und ihre Forschung voranbringen – wobei interdisziplinäres Arbeiten und die Suche nach Lösungen für globale Herausforderungen im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Zunächst eine Notwendigkeit wegen der Insellage West-Berlins, wurde Internationalisierung an der Freien Universität rasch zur erfolgreichen und dauerhaften Strategie.

Zentrale Ziele dieser Internationalisierungsstrategie sind:

  • die Stärkung der universitären Forschung durch internationale Kooperationen und komplementäre Projekte,

  • die Unterstützung des regionalen und internationalen Fokus der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Freien Universität – insbesondere auf dem Gebiet der Regionalstudien, etwa zu Nord- und Lateinamerika, Ostasien, dem Mittleren Osten, Osteuropa und dem kaspischen Raum,

  • die Anwerbung herausragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem Ausland,

  • die Vorbereitung der Studierenden der Freien Universität auf eine globalisierte Welt und die Vermittlung einer internationalen und interkulturellen Perspektive, zum Beispiel durch einen Studienaustausch, Praktika im Ausland und das Studium auf dem internationalen Campus in Berlin-Dahlem.

Ein internationaler Campus

Die Freie Universität bietet ihren Studierenden und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ein internationales Umfeld. Dieses beinhaltet verschiedene Aspekte:

  • die Entwicklung internationaler Kurse und die Integration internationaler Komponenten in Studienprogramme, zum Beispiel englischsprachige Studienangebote, strukturierte Austauschprogramme und gemeinsame bzw. Doppelabschlüsse,

  • die Berücksichtigung der Bedürfnisse der Studierenden und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem Ausland in den Angeboten der Freien Universität, zum Beispiel Orientierungs- und Sprachkurse, Welcome Services und Veranstaltungen des Internationalen Clubs.

 

Letzte Aktualisierung: 26.08.2014

Termine

Ausschreibungen