Freedom Award of Freie Universität Berlin

Bild: Carla Del Ponte ist 2014 Trägerin des Freiheitspreises der Freien Universität Berlin
Carla del Ponte was presented with the Freedom Award of Freie Universität Berlin in October 2014. Image Credit: picture alliance/Gaetan Bally

On October 20, 2014, the Swiss lawyer Carla Del Ponte received a Freedom Award from Freie Universität Berlin. By the 1980s, as a public prosecutor, Carla Del Ponte already became known for her resolute and uncompromising commitment against crime.

Beginning in 1994, as a federal prosecutor for the Swiss Confederation, Carla Del Ponte continued her fight against money laundering, arms trafficking, corruption, and organized crime. In 1999, upon recommendation by the United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan, the UN Security Council appointed her Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunal for former Yugoslawia (1999-2007) and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (1999-2003) in The Hague.

During her eight years in office, of the 161 individuals that the war crimes tribunal had indicted since being founded in 1993, 91 had been arrested or voluntarily surrounded to the authorities. Of this number, 63 individuals – including military commanders, soldiers, and local politicians – were sentenced by the court to imprisonment. The extradition of the deposed dictator Slobodan Milošević to the tribunal in 2001 caused a great international sensation. Milošević, however, died in detention after four years of trial, without having been sentenced for his crimes.

Del Ponte persistently pointed out that justice for the victims is only possible by means of extensive international and national efforts. When she left The Hague in 2007, she strongly urged the EU to make the signing of the Stabilization and Association Agreement with Serbia dependent on the arrest and extradition of war criminals Mladić and Karadžić.

Although there were numerous attempts to block her investigations, Del Ponte was never deterred. With her courageous and persistent advocacy for punishing crimes against humanity, she helped make the victims’ voices be heard. Furthermore, she rendered outstanding services to justice and the establishment of an international legal system.

Since September 2012 Carla Del Ponte has been continuing her tireless work as a member of the independent UN Syria Commission and has been investigating human rights violations and war crimes in the Syrian civil war.

About the Freedom Award

identity-left-freedom_border

Through the special circumstances of its history, in particular, but also through its current work, Freie Universität Berlin represents the concept of political and academic freedom as perhaps no other institution in Germany. Since being founded in 1948, the university has felt itself bound to follow this tradition.

During times of increasing globalization, the concept of freedom must repeatedly be re-examined, and standing up for freedom must be supported. Freie Universität meets these criteria on the one hand through its international networks, on the other through the academic discourse on the conditions of freedom carried out by the Center for Area Studies, an institution that assembles the high standard of regional competency across the various humanities and social sciences at Freie Universität.

Following up on an initiative taken by this center, Freie Universität introduced a new international Freedom Award, conferred for the first time in 2007. The award is presented to persons who served freedom in a political, social, or academic context. The Freedom Award is the first international award honoring advocates of one of the most important values worldwide and thus complements a canon of prestigious awards.

Freiheitspreis

Bild: Carla Del Ponte ist 2014 Trägerin des Freiheitspreises der Freien Universität Berlin
Bild: Carla Del Ponte ist 2014 Trägerin des Freiheitspreises der Freien Universität Berlin Bildquelle: picture alliance/Gaetan Bally

Am 20. Oktober 2014 erhielt die Schweizer Juristin Carla Del Ponte den Freiheitspreis der Freien Universität Berlin. Carla Del Ponte wurde bereits als Staatsanwältin in den 1980er Jahren für ihren resoluten und kompromisslosen Einsatz gegen das Verbrechen bekannt.

Den Kampf gegen Geldwäsche, Waffenhandel, Korruption und organisiertes Verbrechen setzte Carla del Ponte ab 1994 als Bundesanwältin der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft fort, bevor sie 1999 auf Vorschlag des UN-Generalsekretärs Kofi Annan vom UN-Sicherheitsrat zur Chefanklägerin des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs für das ehemalige Jugoslawien (1999-2007) sowie des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs für Ruanda (1999-2003) in Den Haag ernannt wurde.

Während ihrer achtjährigen Amtszeit waren von den 161 Personen, gegen die das Kriegsverbrechertribunal seit seiner Gründung 1993 Anklage erhoben hatte, 91 festgenommen worden oder hatten sich freiwillig gestellt. 63 davon - darunter militärische Befehlshaber, Soldaten und Lokalpolitiker - waren vom Gericht zu Haftstrafen verurteilt worden. Für großes internationales Aufsehen sorgte die Auslieferung des gestürzten jugoslawischen Diktators Slobodan Milošević an das Tribunal im Jahr 2001. Milošević verstarb jedoch nach vierjähriger Prozesszeit in Haft, ohne zuvor für seine Straftaten verurteilt worden zu sein.

Del Ponte wies beharrlich darauf hin, dass Gerechtigkeit für die Opfer nur mittels umfassender internationaler und nationaler Anstrengungen möglich sei. So forderte sie bei ihrem Abschied aus Den Haag im Jahr 2007 die EU noch einmal eindringlich dazu auf, die Unterschrift unter das Stabilisierungs- und Assoziierungsabkommen mit Belgrad von der Festnahme und Auslieferung der Kriegsverbrecher Mladić und Karadžić abhängig zu machen.

Obwohl es zahlreiche Versuche gab, ihre Untersuchungen zu blockieren, ließ sich Del Ponte nie beirren. Mit ihrem couragierten und ausdauernden Eintreten dafür, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit zu bestrafen, hat sie den Opfern Gehör verschafft und sich um Gerechtigkeit und die Etablierung eines internationalen Rechtssystems verdient gemacht.

Seit September 2012 setzt Carla Del Ponte ihr unermüdliches Engagement als Mitglied der unabhängigen Syrien-Kommission der Vereinten Nationen fort und untersucht Menschenrechtsverletzungen und Kriegsverbrechen im syrischen Bürgerkrieg.

Über den Freiheitspreis

identity-left-freiheitspreis rahmen

Die Freie Universität Berlin steht durch ihre Geschichte, aber auch durch ihre aktuelle Arbeit wie kaum eine andere Institution in Deutschland für den Begriff der politischen und wissenschaftlichen Freiheit.

Diesem Leitbild fühlt sich die Universität seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1948 verpflichtet.

In Zeiten der zunehmenden Globalisierung muss auch der Begriff der Freiheit immer wieder neu besetzt und das Eintreten für Freiheit bekräftigt werden. Dem wird die Freie Universität zum einen durch ihre internationale Vernetzung gerecht, zum anderen durch die wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit den Bedingungen von Freiheit durch das Center for Area Studies, das die herausragende geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Regionalkompetenz der Freien Universität bündelt.

Zurückgehend auf die Initiative dieses Centers zeichnet die Freie Universität mit dem internationalen Freiheitspreis Persönlichkeiten von weltweiter Bedeutung aus, die sich im politischen, gesellschaftlichen oder wissenschaftlichen Kontext um Freiheit verdient gemacht haben.

Der Freiheitspreis würdigt damit auf internationaler Ebene das Eintreten für einen der weltweit wichtigsten Werte und reiht sich ein in einen Kanon renommierter Preise.