Cooperation with and Memberships in Foundations, Associations, and Organizations Associated with Academia

Freie Universität Berlin is a member of various organizations and networks at the regional, national, and international levels, including the Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe (UNICA) and the European Universities Association (EUA). Important partnerships at the level of implementation of international exchange projects include the university’s membership in the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the European Association for International Education (EAIE), the Association of International Educators (NAFSA), and the Asia Pacific Association for International Education (APAIE).

Higher Education Policy and Research

German Research Foundation (DFG)

The German Research Foundation (DFG) is the most important academic support and aid institution for research in Germany. The external funding raised by Freie Universität is primarily financed by the DFG. A large number of scientists and scholars from Freie Universität have been appointed to act as experts on the DFG’s selection committees.

German Rectors’ Conference (HRK)

The German Rectors’ Conference (HRK) is the voluntary association of state-operated and state-accredited universities and other higher education institutions in Germany. The HRK serves as the mouthpiece for its members and is a major voice in the higher education landscape. It is a forum for the shared opinion making process of the higher education institutions. Freie Universität is a highly active member of the HRK and has even provided a president in the past.

German U15 e.V.

German U15 is an association of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, the universities of Bonn, Frankfurt, Freiburg, Göttingen, Hamburg, Heidelberg, Cologne, Leipzig, and Mainz, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, and the universities of Münster, Tübingen, and Würzburg. Their objective is to increase the awareness of the teaching and research performance, the social influence, and the knowledge-creating and economic potential of leading German comprehensive universities among the political and economic leaders and the general public.

Heads of University Management & Administration Network Europe (HUMANE)

HUMANE is a European association of higher education institutions that is primarily dedicated to the administrative structures and tasks of universities. Freie Universität participates in continuing education courses and events in order to exchange information with other bodies regarding the latest developments and make further advances in professionalization.

Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin e. V. / Institute for Advanced Study, Berlin

The Wissenschaftskolleg is an important, internationally renowned institution for outstanding scholars and scientists who spend several months in Berlin, devoting their time to a research project. The fellows invited to the Wissenschaftskolleg are brought together into a “class” each year to ensure that the daily meetings required of all participants yield stimulating interdisciplinary expert discussions. The Wissenschaftskolleg also occasionally organizes events for Berlin residents with an interest in academia, with guests of the group. Freie Universität was one of the founding members and also provided the rector for many years.

International Exchange and Cooperation

Asia-Pacific Forum Berlin e.V. (APFB)

Within the Asia-Pacific Forum Berlin, areas of business, political, academic, and cultural life that are interested in forming networks and in advancing dialogue with the Asia-Pacific region are represented.

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

The German Academic Exchange Service is the world’s largest support and aid organization for the international exchange of students, scholars, and scientists and is supported by the German higher education institutions and student body associations in the form of an association. The DAAD fosters the international character of higher education institutions in Germany, strengthens the study of German language and literature abroad, supports developing countries in establishing and developing high-performance higher education institutions, and advises decision makers on cultural, education, and development policy.

A network of 14 field offices and 50 information centers maintains contact with the association’s most important partner countries all over the world and provides advice in the regions. The DAAD is the most important aid organization for the international relations of Freie Universität. The university’s liaison offices in New York, Beijing, Cairo, and São Paulo work closely together with the DAAD.

Deutsch-Französische Hochschule (DFH) / Université Franco-Allemande

The Deutsch-Französische Hochschule, or Université Franco-Allemande, is a virtual association of German-French academic programs that receive financial aid. With its German-French study program at the Otto Suhr Institute of Political Science, Freie Universität was one of the founding members of the DFH.

European University Association (EUA)

The European University Association serves as the voice of the European higher education sector in Brussels. Annual and subject-specific conferences are held to provide information on the latest developments in higher education. Freie Universität has been a member of the EUA since its founding.

GATE Germany

GATE Germany is the initiative, financed by the German federal government and administered by the DAAD that advertises Germany as a location of higher education. It does so through various means, producing advertising campaigns, websites, and printed materials. In various regions around the world, the initiative regularly organizes trade fairs and road shows at which German universities can present themselves and their programs locally. Freie Universität is a founding member and participates in many events.

Institute of International Education (IIE)

The Institute of International Education is the oldest interest association in the world dedicated to the internationalization of higher education. Subject-specific conferences and publications support the universities’ work. Freie Universität has used the IIE as a forum to maintain its partnerships and spark new development trends for years.

Association of International Educators (NAFSA)

The NAFSA is an interest association aimed at internationalizing the education offered at higher education institutions, primarily in North America. Representatives of the international offices make up a large part of the organization. Annual conferences and continuing education seminars support the members and participants in their professional fields and drive the process of professionalization at the international level. The annual conferences are an ideal forum for maintaining existing university partnerships and paving the way for new ones, since they welcome participants and partners from all over the world.

Réseau des Universités des Capitales de l´Europe / Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe (UNICA)

UNICA was created in the scope of the EU call for tenders for thematic networks. As its name suggests, it is an association of universities from Europe’s capital cities. Since these universities face similar challenges, they share a number of topics of interest, which are addressed in regular meetings. Freie Universität is a founding member and has always participated in the association’s self-government structures.

Student Exchanges, Scholarships, Grants, and Fellowships

Berlin Consortium for German Studies (BCGS)

The Berlin Consortium for German Studies is an association formed between Freie Universität, which hosts the program, and a number of Ivy League universities, which send students to Freie Universität for one or two semesters under the program. In return, Freie Universität is able to send students to the American universities. Participants are integrated into the regular Freie Universität student body, meaning that their German skills are so advanced that they a.re able to participate in regular instruction. The program is administered by Columbia University

Studienstiftung des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin (Study Foundation of the Berlin House of Representatives)

The Study Foundation of the Berlin House of Representatives was formed by the lower chamber of Berlin’s parliament in 1994, to mark the departure of the Allied military forces from Berlin. The goal is to use the foundation’s earnings to give scholarships to outstanding students from the former four Allied countries to study in Berlin for a year. The program has served several hundred scholarship recipients since it was founded, establishing good relationships with former and current participants, especially in Eastern Europe. Freie Universität administers the program.

Internationale Parlamentsstipendien (IPS)

The International Parliament Scholarship program is a program initiated by the Bundestag, the lower house of the German federal parliament. Each year, half-year scholarships are awarded for about 120 parliament internships and clerkships. Scholarship recipients come from the Western Allied nations, Israel, and many countries in Eastern Europe. The program’s goal is to give participants insight into the workings of parliamentary democracy in Germany and provide helpful suggestions for their future careers in their home countries. The program is managed on an alternating basis by the three universities in Berlin. It is administered by Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Social Responsibility

alumni-clubs.net e.V.

alumni-clubs.net e.V. is an association of alumni initiatives within the German-speaking countries. Both the alumni organizational units of the universities and nonprofit and charity clubs of former students and faculty members from the higher education sector are active within this organization. Its annual and subject-specific conferences provide a forum for professionals in this field to exchange information and obtain continuing education. Freie Universität hosted the 2010 annual conference.

Freundeskreis Amerika Haus Berlin e.V.

Freundeskreis Amerika-Haus (Friends of Amerika Haus) was founded in 1995, after the departure of the Allied military forces, with the aim of supporting the cultural work performed by the Amerika Haus. The nonprofit association has become known in particular for its “Meterweise Amerika” (America, Meter by Meter) campaign, which ran for many years. Donations were collected, and whenever the money was enough to purchase ten one-meter compact reference libraries containing standard works about and from the U.S., these “meters” were donated to schools in the area of the Amerika-Haus. Schools in the east of the country benefited in particular, receiving literature and making new contacts with organizations in the United States. Freie Universität was a founding member of the association and was represented on its Board of Directors for many years.

German Studies Association (GSA)

The German Studies Association is the most important association of North American scholars and researchers who study and teach about the German-speaking countries. The disciplines represented range from German language and literature to history, political science, art history, music, and anthropology. Freie Universität was able to bring in the GSA as a partner for its Berlin Program for German and Advanced European Studies. In a jointly organized advertising campaign and selection process, the two bodies grant doctoral fellowships at Freie Universität each year.

Internationales Begegnungszentrum der Wissenschaft e. V.

The International Center for Academic Exchange (Internationales Begegnungszentrum der Wissenschaft, IBZ) was built in the early 1980s as a guesthouse for visiting scholars and scientists at research institutions in Berlin. The building is now used jointly by the Max Planck Society and Freie Universität. The Director of Administration and Finance of Freie Universität is the chairman of the association. The IBZ offers especially attentive service to its guests. Advance bookings with as much lead time as possible are recommended.

Stiftung Luftbrückendank

The Airlift Foundation (Stiftung Luftbrückendank) was developed in the 1950s and 1960s based on donations made by Berlin residents. The foundation’s earnings are used to support needy airlift participants and their families. Early in its history, the foundation organized regular commemorative events to recognize the support provided by the Western Allies. More recently, it has aided the universities in Berlin by providing scholarships, grants, and support for programs, as well as organizing an information campaign on the Berlin Airlift for schools in Berlin. Freie Universität has been represented on the foundation’s Board of Directors ever since it was founded.

Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft (EVZ)

The Foundation for Remembrance, Responsibility and Future (Stiftung für Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft, EVZ) was established in connection with the process of reparations for those who worked as forced laborers during World War II. The foundation’s activities include providing scholarships for descendents of forced laborers and students who are researching topics related to forced labor. More than ten recipients of EVZ scholarships come to Freie Universität each year. Freie Universität has also taken on responsibility for the electronic administration and development of the EVZ archive, under the leadership of the Center for Digital Systems (CeDiS).

Last Update: Aug 27, 2013

Kooperationen mit und Mitgliedschaften in wissenschaftsnahen Stiftungen, Verbänden und weiteren Organisationen

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist auf regionaler, nationaler genauso wie internationaler Ebene Mitglied in unterschiedlichen Organisationen und Netzwerken wie zum Beispiel Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe (UNICA) und European Universities Association (EUA). 

Wichtige Partnerschaften auf der Ebene der Umsetzung von internationalen Austauschprojekten sind die Mitgliedschaften beim Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD), in der EAIE (European Association for International Education), in der NAFSA ( Association of International Educators) oder in der Asia Pacific Association for International Education (APAIE).

Hochschulpolitik und Forschung

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft ist die bedeutendste wissenschaftliche Fördereinrichtung für die Forschung in Deutschland. Die von der Freien Universität eingeworbenen Drittmittel sind überwiegend DFG-finanziert. Etliche Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität sind als Gutachter in die Auswahlgremien der DFG berufen worden.

German U15 e.V.

In German U15 haben sich die Freie Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Universitäten Bonn, Frankfurt, Freiburg, Göttingen, Hamburg, Heidelberg, Köln, Leipzig und Mainz, die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und die Universitäten Münster, Tübingen und Würzburg zusammengeschlossen. Ihr Anliegen ist es, die Lehr- und Forschungsleistungen, das gesellschaftliche Wirken sowie die Wissen schaffenden und ökonomischen Potentiale der führenden deutschen Volluniversitäten der Politik ebenso wie der Wirtschaft und der Zivilgesellschaft stärker bewusst zu machen.

Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK)

Die Hochschulrektorenkonferenz ist der freiwillige Zusammenschluss der staatlichen und staatlich anerkannten Universitäten und Hochschulen in Deutschland. Die HRK ist das Sprachrohr der Mitglieder und eine wesentliche Stimme in der Hochschullandschaft. Sie ist Forum für den gemeinsamen Meinungsbildungsprozess der Hochschulen. Die Freie Universität ist ein sehr aktives Mitglied der HRK und hat auch schon einen Präsidenten gestellt.

Heads of University Management & Administration Network Europe (HUMANE)

HUMANE ist ein europäischer Hochschulzusammenschluss, der sich schwerpunktmäßig den administrativen Strukturen und Aufgaben  von Universitäten widmet. Die Freie Universität beteiligt sich an Fortbildungsveranstaltungen, um sich über die neusten Entwicklungen auszutauschen und weiter zu professionalisieren.

Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin e. V.

Das Wissenschaftskolleg ist eine bedeutende, international renommierte Einrichtung für hervorragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die sich einige Monate in Berlin einem Forschungsprojekt widmen. Die eingeladenen Fellows werden jedes Jahr als Jahrgang zusammengestellt, damit es bei dem für alle verpflichtenden täglichen Treffen zu anregenden interdisziplinären Fachgesprächen kommt. Bisweilen werden auch Veranstaltungen für die interessierten Berliner mit Gästen des Kollegs organisiert. Die Freie Universität gehörte zu den Gründungsmitgliedern und stellte auch viele Jahre lang den Rektor.

Internationaler Austausch und Zusammenarbeit

Asien-Pazifik-Forum Berlin e.V. (APFB)

Im Asien-Pazifik-Forum Berlin sind Bereiche des wirtschaftlichen, politischen, wissenschaftlichen und kulturellen Lebens vertreten, die an der Netzwerkbildung und an der Vertiefung des Dialogs mit dem asiatisch-pazifischen Raum interessiert sind.

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)

Der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst ist die weltweit größte Förderorganisation für den internationalen Austausch von Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern und wird als Verein von den deutschen Hochschulen und Studierendenschaften getragen. Der DAAD fördert die Internationalität der deutschen Hochschulen, stärkt die Germanistik und deutsche Sprache im Ausland, unterstützt Entwicklungsländer beim Aufbau leistungsfähiger Hochschulen und berät die Entscheider in der Kultur-, Bildungs- und Entwicklungspolitik.

Ein Netzwerk von 14 Außenstellen und 50 Informationszentren hält Kontakt zu den wichtigsten Partnerländern auf allen Kontinenten und berät vor Ort.

Der DAAD ist die für die Freie Universität bedeutendste Förderorganisation für ihre internationalen Beziehungen.  Die Verbindungsbüros der Freien Universität in New York, Peking, Kairo und São Paulo arbeiten eng mit dem DAAD zusammen.

Deutsch-Französische Hochschule (DFH) / Université Franco-Allemande

Die Deutsch-Französische Hochschule  ist ein virtueller Zusammenschluss von deutsch-französischen Studienprogrammen, die finanziell fördert werden. Die Freie Universität war mit ihrem deutsch-französischen Studienzyklus des Otto-Suhr-Instituts für Politikwissenschaft ein Gründungsmitglied der DFH.

European University Association (EUA)

Die European University Association ist der Zusammenschluss der Europäischen Universitäten und dient als Stimme der europäischen Hochschulbildung in Brüssel. In Jahres- und Fachtagungen wird über die neuesten Entwicklungen im Hochschulbereich informiert. Die Freie Universität ist seit der Gründung Mitglied der EUA.

GATE Germany

GATE Germany ist die von der Bundesregierung finanzierte und vom DAAD administrierte Initiative, die für Deutschland als Hochschulort wirbt. Dies geschieht zum Beispiel durch Werbekampagnen, Internetauftritte und Druckerzeugnisse. In verschiedenen Regionen der Welt werden regelmäßig Messen und „Road Shows“ organisiert, auf denen sich deutsche Hochschulen vor Ort präsentieren können. Die Freie Universität ist Gründungsmitglied und beteiligt sich an vielen Veranstaltungen.

Institute of International Education (IIE)

Das Institute of International Education ist die älteste Interessensvereinigung weltweit, die sich der Internationalisierung der Hochschulen widmet. Fachtagungen und Publikationen unterstützen die Arbeit der Hochschulen. Die Freie Universität nutzt seit Jahren das IIE als Forum für ihre Partnerschaftspflege und zur Anregung neuer Entwicklungstrends.

Association of International Educators (NAFSA)

Die NAFSA ist eine Interessensvereinigung für die Internationalisierung der Erziehung von vornehmlich nordamerikanischen Hochschulen. In ihr sind vor allem Vertreter der International Offices organisiert. Mit Jahrestagungen und Fortbildungsseminaren werden die Mitglieder und Teilnehmer in ihrem Berufsfeld unterstützt und die Professionalisierung auf internationaler Ebene vorangetrieben. Die Jahreskonferenzen sind ein ideales Forum für die Pflege und Anbahnung von Universitätspartnerschaften, weil dort Teilnehmer und Partner aus aller Welt zusammenkommen.

Réseau des Universités des Capitales de l´Europe / Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe (UNICA)

UNICA wurde im Rahmen der EU-Ausschreibung von thematischen Netzwerken ins Leben gerufen. Sie ist ein Zusammenschluss der Hauptstadtuniversitäten Europas. Da diese Universitäten vergleichbare Herausforderungen bestehen müssen, gibt es viele gemeinsame Themen, die in regelmäßigen Treffen bearbeitet werden. Die Freie Universität ist Gründungsmitglied und hat sich stets an der Selbstverwaltung beteiligt.

Studierendenaustausch und Stipendien

Berlin Consortium for German Studies (BCGS)

Das Berlin Consortium for German Studieshttp://www.bcgs.columbia.edu ist ein Zusammenschluss von Freier Universität als Gastinstitution und führenden amerikanischen Universitäten („Ivy League“), die ihre Studierenden für ein oder zwei Semester mit diesem Programm an die Freie Universität schicken. Die Freie Universität kann im Gegenzug Studierende an diese Hochschulen senden. Die Teilnehmer studieren integriert an der Freien Universität, d.h. die Deutschkenntnisse sind so fortgeschritten, dass eine Unterrichtsteilnahme möglich ist. Das Programm wird von der Columbia University administriert.

Studienstiftung des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin

Die Stiftung des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin wurde 1994 zum Abzug der Alliierten aus Berlin vom Abgeordnetenhaus eingerichtet. Ziel ist es mit dem Stiftungsertrag herausragende Studierende aus Ländern der vier ehemaligen Alliierten mit Jahresstipendien nach Berlin zu holen. Das Programm hat seit seiner Gründung mehrere hundert Stipendiaten betreut und zu diesen gute Beziehungen insbesondere nach Osteuropa geknüpft. Die Freie Universität administriert dies Programm.

Internationale Parlamentsstipendien (IPS)

Die Internationalen Parlamentsstipendien sind ein Programm des Deutschen Bundestages. Jährlich werden Halbjahresstipendien für etwa 120 Parlamentspraktika vergeben. Die Stipendiaten kommen aus Ländern der ehemaligen West-Alliierten, Israel und vielen Ländern Osteuropas. Ziel ist es, den Teilnehmern einen Einblick in die gelebte deutsche Parlamentsdemokratie zu geben und ihnen für ihre Karriere im Heimatland Anregungen mitzugeben. Das Programm wird im turnusmäßigen Wechsel von den drei Berliner Universitäten geleitet. Die Administration liegt bei der Humboldt Universität.

Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung

alumni-clubs.net e.V.

Der alumni-clubs.net e.V. ist eine Vereinigung der Alumni-Initiativen im deutschsprachigen Raum. In ihr sind sowohl die Alumni-Organisationseinheiten der Universitäten als auch gemeinnützige Ehemaligenvereine aus dem Hochschulbereich tätig. Die Jahres- und Fachkonferenzen dienen einem Erfahrungsaustausch und der Fortbildung von Mitarbeitern in diesem Tätigkeitsfeld. Die Jahrestagung 2010 wurde an der Freien Universität ausgetragen.

Freundeskreis Amerika Haus Berlin e.V.

Der Freundeskreis Amerika-Haus wurde nach dem Abzug der alliierten 1995 gegründet und hatte sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Kulturarbeit des Amerika-Hauses zu unterstützen. Insbesondere durch seine über viele Jahre laufende Aktion „Meterweise Amerika“ wurde der gemeinnützige Verein bekannt. Es wurden Spenden eingesammelt und immer wenn das Geld für zehn einen Meter lange Bibliothek mit Standardwerken über und aus Amerika zusammen kam, wurden diese „Meter“ an Schulen im Einzugssprengel des Amerika-Hauses verschenkt. So wurden vor allem die Schulen im Osten mit Literatur bedacht und neue Kontakte in die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika geknüpft. Die Freie Universität war Gründungsmitglied des Vereins und jahrelang im Vorstand vertreten.

German Studies Association (GSA)

Die German Studies Association ist der bedeutendste Zusammenschluss von nordamerikanischen Wissenschaftlern, die sich mit den deutschsprachigen Ländern befassen. Das Fächersprektrum reicht von Germanistik über Geschichte, Politologie, Kunstgeschichte bis hin zu Musik und Anthropologie. Die Freie Universität konnte die GSA als Partner für ihr „Berlin Program for German and Advanced European Studies“ gewinnen. In gemeinsamen Werbeaktionen und Auswahlen werden jährlich Promotionsstipendien an der Freien Universität verliehen.

Internationales Begegnungszentrum der Wissenschaft e. V.

Das Internationale Begegnungszentrum der Wissenschaft wurde Anfang der 1980er Jahre als Gästehaus für Gastwissenschaftler von Berliner Forschungseinrichtungen gebaut. Inzwischen wird das Haus von der Max Planck Gesellschaft und der Freien Universität genutzt. Der Kanzler der Freien Universität hat den Vorsitz des Vereins. Das IBZ bietet seinen Gästen eine besonders aufmerksame Betreuung. Weit vorausschauende Anmeldungen werden empfohlen.

Stiftung Luftbrückendank

Die Stiftung Luftbrückendank wurde in den 1950er und 1960er Jahren aus Spenden von Berliner Bürgern aufgebaut. Mit dem Stiftungsertrag wurden und werden bedürftige Teilnehmer der Luftbücke und deren Angehörige unterstützt. Regelmäßig wurden Erinnerungsveranstaltungen organisiert, um an die Unterstützung der West-Alliierten zu erinnern. In  jüngerer Zeit wurden die Berliner Universitäten mit Stipendien und Programmunterstützung bedacht und eine Informationskampagne über die Luftbrücke für die Berliner Schulen organisiert. Die Freie Universität ist seit der Stiftungsgründung im Vorstand vertreten.

Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft (EVZ)

Die Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft wurde im Zusammenhang mit der Wiedergutmachung für die Zwangsarbeiter des Zweiten Weltkriegs  eingerichtet. Die Stiftung vergibt unter anderem Stipendien an Nachkommen von Zwangsarbeitern oder an Studierende, die über Themen der Zwangsarbeit forschen. An die Freie Universität kommen jährlich mehr als zehn von der EVZ geförderte Stipendiaten. Ferner hat die Freie Universität unter Führung des Centers für Digitale Systeme (CeDiS) die elektronische Verwaltung und Erschließung des EVZ-Archivs übernommen.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 30.07.2013