International Cooperative Arrangements

Eröffnung des internationalen Verbindungsbüros in São Paulo
Speaker at the inauguration of the international liaison office in Brazil. Image Credit: Danila

International cooperative arrangements have long been a matter of course and an established feature at Freie Universität Berlin as an “International Network University.” After all, the university was first founded with substantial support from institutions outside Germany.

Liaison Offices on Five Continents

The university’s international networking goals are now also supported by its seven international liaison offices, located in Brussels, Cairo, Moscow, New York, New Delhi, Beijing, and São Paulo. These offices provide support to scholars, scientists, and researchers affiliated with Freie Universität who wish to explore cooperative opportunities in these regions and serve as a point of contact for researchers, instructors, and students.

Studying and Teaching in an International Context

With more than 100 central university partnerships worldwide – especially in the regions of particular focus for the university: North America and Latin America, East and Southeast Asia, and Eastern Europe – and more than 300 agreements in place within the Erasmus lifelong learning program (LLP), Freie Universität offers its students a host of opportunities to experience life abroad. At the same time, the university is a sought-after destination for students from all over the world. The international character of Freie Universität is also evident in the FUBiS summer school program, the largest of its kind in Germany.

International Exchange of Scholars and Scientists

The university emphasizes international cooperation in its postgraduate education activities as well. Alongside exchanges of scholars and scientists within the central university partnerships and the many international summer schools and workshops offered, various graduate programs have built study or stay abroad phases into their doctoral courses. There are several dual degree programs offered jointly with selected universities.

The university’s current flagship programs in this regard are three international research training groups, in which doctoral candidates receive joint supervision between Freie Universität and other institutions: the University of Hyderabad (Veterinary Medicine), a consortium of Mexican universities (Institute for Latin American Studies), and the University of Copenhagen (Department of Philosophy and Humanities).

Worldwide Research Collaboration

The global cooperative activities in which Freie Universität engages in the research sector are evident not only from the university’s many international projects receiving external funding, but also in its involvement in international networks. One good example of this is the German-Russian Interdisciplinary Science Center at Saint Petersburg State University, which is supported by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and whose work is coordinated by Freie Universität Berlin with the inclusion of other German and Russian higher education institutions.

Last Update: Apr 23, 2013

Internationale Hochschulkooperationen

Eröffnung des internationalen Verbindungsbüros in São Paulo
Eröffnung des internationalen Verbindungsbüros in São Paulo Quelle: Danila

Internationale Kooperationen sind für die Freie Universität Berlin als „Internationale Netzwerkuniversität“ seit langem selbstverständlich und etabliert, wurde sie doch bereits mit maßgeblicher Unterstützung ausländischer Institutionen gegründet.

Verbindungsbüros auf vier Kontinenten

Zur internationalen Vernetzung tragen heute auch die sieben internationalen Verbindungsbüros in Brüssel, Kairo, Moskau, New York, Neu-Delhi, Peking und São Paulo bei, die die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität bei Kooperationen in den Regionen unterstützen und als Ansprechpartner für Forschende, Lehrende und Studierende dienen.

Studium und Lehre im internationalen Kontext

Mit weltweit mehr als 100 zentralen Universitätspartnerschaften – vor allem in den Schwerpunktregionen Nord- und Lateinamerika, Ost- und Südostasien sowie Osteuropa – und mehr als 300 Vereinbarungen im Rahmen des LLP Erasmus-Programms bietet die Freie Universität ihren Studierenden vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Auslandserfahrungen und ist gleichzeitig eine begehrte Universität für Studierende aus aller Welt. Die Internationalität der Universität zeigt sich ebenso in dem deutschlandweit größten Summerschool-Programm FUBiS.

Internationaler Austausch von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern

Auch bei der postgradualen Ausbildung wird großen Wert auf internationale Zusammenarbeit gelegt. Neben dem Austausch von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern im Rahmen der zentralen Universitätspartnerschaften sowie zahlreichen internationalen Summer Schools und Workshops haben diverse Graduiertenprogramme Auslandsaufenthalte fest in ihr Promotionsstudium integriert. Doppelabschlüsse sind im Rahmen diverser Programme möglich.

Als Leuchttürme ragen derzeit drei internationale Graduiertenkollegs heraus, bei denen die Doktorandenbetreuung gemeinsam erfolgt: mit der Universität Hyderabad (Veterinärmedizin), mit einem Konsortium mexikanischer Universitäten (Lateinamerika-Institut) und mit der Universität Kopenhagen (Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften).

Weltweite Forschungskooperationen

Die weltweite Zusammenarbeit der Freien Universität im Bereich der Forschung zeigt sich nicht nur in zahlreichen internationalen Drittmittelprojekten, sondern auch in der Beteiligung an internationalen Netzwerken. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist das vom DAAD geförderte German-Russian Interdisciplinary Science Center an der Staatlichen Universität St. Petersburg, dessen Arbeit unter Einbeziehung weiterer deutscher und russischer Hochschulen von der Freien Universität Berlin koordiniert wird.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 23.04.2013