Junior Researchers at Freie Universität Berlin

Supporting and promoting young scholars is one of the most important tasks facing Freie Universität.
Supporting and promoting young scholars is one of the most important tasks facing Freie Universität.
Image Credit: David Ausserhofer

The quality of future research in general, but also the future performance capacity of individual higher education institutions and research sectors depends on one thing above all else: qualified junior talent. For that reason, supporting and educating budding scholars and scientists is one of the most important tasks performed by Freie Universität Berlin.

Strategic support for junior researchers at Freie Universität Berlin is also one of the three core areas in the university’s future development concept, which won funding in the Excellence Initiative jointly sponsored by the German federal and state governments in 2007 and 2012.

There are a large number of programs and options for providing targeted support for outstanding junior talent.

Freie Universität supports junior researchers by providing advice and services having to do with applying for doctoral grants and fellowships, structured doctoral programs, academic awards and external funding as well as support from the Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium of the state of Berlin. The career path model also provides targeted support to early career scholars and scientists across the various phases of their educational and working lives. The Dahlem Research School designs structured doctoral and qualification programs as well as fellowships for junior scholars and scientists at the university. The Center for Research Strategy provides further strategic support for junior scholars and scientists through various activities, including in junior research groups.

Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs an der Freien Universität Berlin

Die Förderung und Ausbildung angehender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zählt zu einer der wichtigsten Aufgaben der Freien Universität Berlin.
Die Förderung und Ausbildung angehender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zählt zu einer der wichtigsten Aufgaben der Freien Universität Berlin. Bildquelle: David Ausserhofer

Die zukünftige Forschungsqualität im Allgemeinen, aber auch die zukünftige Leistungsfähigkeit einzelner Hochschulen oder Forschungsgebiete ist vor allem abhängig vom qualifizierten wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Die Förderung und Ausbildung angehender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zählt deshalb zu einer der wichtigsten Aufgaben der Freien Universität Berlin.

Die strategische Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses der Freien Universität Berlin zählt auch zu einem der drei Kernbereiche ihres durch die Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder 2007 und 2012 ausgezeichneten Zukunftskonzeptes.

Hierfür existieren zahlreiche Programme und Möglichkeiten, herausragenden Nachwuchs gezielt zu fördern:

Die Freie Universität unterstützt Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler mit Beratung und Services bei der Bewerbung um Promotionsstipendien, stukturierte Promotionsprogramme, Wissenschaftspreise und Drittmittel sowie durch das Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium des Landes Berlin. Durch das Karrierewege-Modell werden ferner junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in den verschiedenen Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsphasen gezielt gefördert. Die Dahlem Research School konzipiert strukturierte Promotions- und Qualifizierungsprogramme sowie Fellowships für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs an der Universität. Weitere strategische Unterstützung erfährt die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses - z.B. in Nachwuchsgruppen - durch das Center for Research Strategy.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 14.10.2014