Freie Universität Berlin


Service Navigation

Goals of the Research Database

  • Formal and content-related indexing and handling of externally funded projects, research outside of external funding, and scientific and academic profiles of the scholars, scientists, and researchers at Freie Universität Berlin by capturing finely differentiated formal and content-related categories of data (e.g., bilingual keyword directory systematically organized according to discipline, abstracts, classification of projects [e.g., research, conferences, programs to support junior scholars and scientists], type of collaborative research [e.g., DFG programs] and cooperation partner [e.g., Max Planck institutions, universities]).

    This means:
  • Overview of all current research projects at Freie Universität with content-related differentiation of the individual research alliances, such as DFG programs, research units and junior research groups, awards and prizes, BMBF alliance projects, EU projects, etc., and presentation of German and international research relationships
  • Within the research alliances, presentation of cooperation partners of Freie Universität Berlin and various types of cooperation partners (e.g., universities, Max Planck institutions, etc.)
  • Overview of research priorities and guidelines at Freie Universität Berlin, including on an interdisciplinary and cross-institution basis
  • Process optimization in the internal administration of research projects
  • Replacement of former heterogeneous, isolated IT solutions by integrating the research database into the SAP landscape of Freie Universität Berlin
  • Standardized reference use of individual SAP modules for all research database sub-applications, eliminating duplicate data maintenance in different working areas
  • Preventing data redundancy and improving timeliness of data
  • Secure multiple accesses through specific authorization concepts and differentiated collective roles for different user groups: user management in the identity management system (IDM), specific read and write rights, selection and display of stipulated data content that can be delineated per user group (thereby guaranteeing data protection and privacy)
  • Research offerings for Freie Universität Berlin and external institutions from a qualitative and quantitative standpoint as well as generation of data for the various report formats (e.g., research report) of Freie Universität Berlin
  • Public presentation of the research profile of Freie Universität Berlin

Ziele der Forschungsdatenbank

  • Formale und inhaltliche Erschließung und Aufbereitung von Drittmittelprojekten, von Forschung außerhalb von Drittmittelförderungen sowie von wissenschaftlichen Profilen der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität Berlin durch Erfassung feindifferenzierter formaler und inhaltlicher Datenkategorien (z.B. fachlich systematisiertes zweisprachiges Schlagwortverzeichnis, Abstracts, Klassifizierung der Projekte [z.B. Forschung, Tagungen, Nachwuchsprogramme], Art der Verbundforschung [z.B. DFG-Programme] und Kooperationspartner [z.B. Max-Planck-Einrichtungen, Universitäten], das heißt:
  • Überblick über alle laufenden Forschungsvorhaben der Freien Universität mit inhaltlicher Differenzierung der einzelnen Forschungsverbünde, wie z. B. DFG-Programme, Forscher- und Nachwuchsgruppen, Preise, BMBF-Verbundprojekte, EU-Projekte u.a. und Abbildung von nationalen und internationalen Forschungsbeziehungen
  • Innerhalb der Forschungsverbünde Abbildung von Kooperationspartnern der Freien Universität Berlin und verschiedenen Arten der Kooperationspartner (z. B. Universitäten, Max-Planck-Einrichtungen u. a.)
  • Übersicht über Forschungsschwerpunkte und -leitlinien der Freien Universität Berlin, auch fach- und institutionsübergreifend
  • Prozessoptimierung in der internen Verwaltung von Forschungsvorhaben
  • Ablösung ehemaliger heterogener IT-Insellösungen durch Integration der Forschungsdatenbank in die SAP-Landschaft der Freien Universität Berlin
  • Dieselbe referenzielle Nutzung einzelner SAP-Module für alle Teilapplikationen der Forschungsdatenbank und dadurch Entfallen doppelter Datenpflege in unterschiedlichen Arbeitsbereichen
  • Vermeidung von Datenredundanz und Erhöhung der Datenaktualität
  • Gesicherte Mehrfachzugriffe durch spezifische Berechtigungskonzepte und differenzierte Sammelrollen für verschiedene Nutzergruppen: Nutzerverwaltung im Identity-Management-System (IDM), spezifische Lese- und Schreibrechte, Auswahl und Anzeige festgelegter und eingrenzbarer Dateninhalte je Nutzergruppe (dadurch Gewährleistung des Datenschutzes)
  • Rechercheangebot für die Freie Universität Berlin und externe Einrichtungen unter qualitativen und quantitativen Aspekten sowie Generierung von Daten für die verschiedenen Berichtsformate (z. B. Forschungsbericht) der Freien Universität Berlin
  • Öffentliche Präsentation des Forschungsprofils der Freien Universität Berlin