The activation of the power saving mode causes your PC to save the current session (suspend to ram) and enter ‘sleep’ mode. In this mode, your computer should not be disconnected from the mains electricity supply as it is still in operation. When the PC is “woken up” it requires just a few seconds to return to the login screen. All recently opened programmes are still available.
In the power saving mode, all files are saved in the cache and not saved on the hard drive. Because of this, if the computer crashes or there is a power cut, it is possible that files will be lost. Please save the files you are working on regularly, particularly when leaving your desk.
This mode is perfect for short absences (e.g. short meetings or coffee breaks, lunch).
The activation of hibernate mode causes the PC to save the current session on the hard drive (suspend to disc) and shut down. In this mode, the computer can be disconnected from the mains (e.g. with a socket that can be switched on and off). When the PC is switched back on, it immediately returns to the last session, so the last programme or internet site that was used is immediately available. Despite this setting, all files should be saved before you leave your desk. In comparison to normal start-up procedures, the PC requires significantly less time to restart the system in the hibernate mode. This mode is perfect for longer absences (e.g. long meetings, lectures, off-site appointments) and results in the biggest reductions in energy consumption compared to when the computer is left on during absences, because the system is switched off.